A reintroduction

This is really a post for me.
But if you’re reading it, welcome.

Just a few weeks ago, a colleague and friend asked me when the last time I wrote was, and being a copywriter/ creative director I asked “what do you mean? I write everyday”. He said “No, when did you write for yourself?”, to which I responded “I don’t even remember”.

The conversation ended there but the question never left me. When was the last time I wrote for myself? Why had I stopped writing on this blog, or journaling for that matter?

Because, I realised, I was never really doing it for me. I was doing it for the people I thought might read this and it got me second-guessing every sentence, every word because I would be thinking “what will they think of me when they read this?”.

This took me by surprise, the realisation that I had been writing for others and not myself. Tailoring or filtering what I want to communicate based on who might read it.

And then funnily enough, a post popped up on my news feed, showing a quote from Quintin Tarantino. It read “I write content and make videos for me. Everybody else is invited” and I thought to myself, that’s quite powerful.

Why aren’t I creating or writing for myself anymore?

So this is a reattempt at writing, but not for anyone else. This is for me instead.

Leave a comment